When is a Touchdown a Touchdown?

You know when a receiver catches the football by the sideline but both of his feet aren’t completely in bounds so the referee calls it an incomplete pass? Even if half an inch of the front of his left cleat is on the inside border of the white line, it’s called an incomplete pass. That’s because both feet need to be in bounds in order for the play to be considered legal.

Then why is it that the receiver, or the running back or anyone else for that matter, can have possession of the ball but never even have his feet anywhere near the goal line but if he stretches out his arm so that even just the tip of the ball is touching the inside (that is, toward the field, not toward the goal) border of the goal line, it’s a touchdown? Or how about when he’s flying out of bounds and waves the ball over one of the cones as he does so? Shouldn’t his feet have to be within the goal line, too? Why is the “two feet in to be legal” rule only applied to incomplete and completed passes and not to touchdowns?

We give football players steroids in order for them to get bigger, stronger, and faster, but we don’t want them to exert themselves by actually having to run into the end zone?

It just doesn’t seem logical.

0 Responses to “When is a Touchdown a Touchdown?”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: